Class Notes


Vincent T. Devita Jr., M.D. ’61, HON. ’84, received the 2017 Yale Cancer Center Lifetime Achievement Award.

David Henry Goodman, M.D. ’63, was named Clinical Professor Emeritus by the Department of Medicine at George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences.


Paul B. Roth, M.D. ’76, FACEP, was awarded the New Mexico Spirit of Achievement Award by National Jewish Health.

John Joseph Wells, M.D. ’78, was awarded Top Doc in Phoenix magazine.


Andrea Carpenter, M.D. ’89, Ph.D., served as president of the Southern Thoracic Surgical Association in 2016.

Robert C. Hendel, M.D. ’83, was appointed as the Sidney W. and Marilyn S. Lassen Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine, chief, Section of Cardiology, director of Tulane Heart and Vascular Institute.

Peter Kaufman, M.D. ’80, was named Fellow of the American Gastroenterology Association and also named a Washingtonian Top Doc for the second year.

James Longobardi, D.P.M., M.B.A., P.A. ’80, was elected chief of surgery, Mercy Scripps Chula Vista, 2017–19.


Nathaniel Beers, M.D. ’95, CERT ’04, FAAP, assumed the role of CEO of the HSC Health Care System, a nonprofit health care organization in Washington, D.C., in May 2017. In this role, he oversees the HSC Pediatric Center, both inpatient and outpatient services, HSC Home Care and residential services, health services for children with special health care needs, the Medicaid managed care provider for children and youth with disabilities in D.C., and the HSC Foundation.

Kendalle Cobb, M.D. ’96, received the Chief of Staff Award from the Cleveland Clinic. The $25,000 grant will be used to explore the challenges and successes the Cleveland Clinic faces in creating a culture of diversity and inclusion.

Erin Hogan, B.S. ’98, Emergency Medical Services, was promoted to philanthropic market executive, Southeast U.S., U.S. Trust, Bank of America Private Wealth Management.

Elizabeth Ann Ignacio, M.D., RESD ’98, served as president of the Hawaii Radiological Society, state chapter of American College of Radiology, 2016–17.

John G. Pattaras, M.D. ’92, RESD ’99, associate professor of urology at Emory University School of Medicine, was named Emory’s James C. Kennedy Chair in Prostate Surgery. He is also the chief of Emory urology services at Saint Joseph’s Hospital and director of minimally invasive surgery.

Edgar Ratilla, CERT ’95, Health Science Laboratory Technology, obtained the American Society for Quality’s certified manager of quality/organizational excellence designation.

John S. Symington, M.D., RESD ’91, became president of the INOVA Mt. Vernon Hospital staff.


Petros Carvounis, M.D., RESD ’05, was recognized as a Top Doctor in ophthalmology in Houstonia magazine.

Brett F. Holt, M.D. ’06, RESD ’08, was featured in the International Association of Health Care Professionals urologist publication The Leading Physicians of the World. Holt is a board-certified urologist specializing in urinary tract disease and the male reproductive system, and is a robotic surgery expert.

Hope T. Jackson, M.D. ’09, RESD ’16, CERT ’14, minimally invasive surgery foregut/bariatric surgery fellow at the University of Washington Medical Center, was selected as one of the 2017 National Minority Quality Forum 40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health.

Supriya Jagannath-Vanguri, M.D. ’02, B.A. ’98, serves as an oral board examiner for the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Lt. Commander Ian Marks, P.A. ’00, CERT ’00, graduated from the United States Naval War College in the fall of 2016. He is the first Coast Guard physician assistant to earn a diploma from the Naval War College and is currently serving as the senior medical officer for the U.S.C.G. clinic in the port of Los Angeles.

Thomas Maruna, B.S. ’09, A.A. ’06, CERT ’05, Clinical Laboratory Sciences, received the Junior Officer Medical Laboratory Scientist of the Year Award from the United States Public Health Service.

Louis Miller, M.D. ’03, B.A. ’99, received the New York University Department of Medicine Teacher of the Year award.

Lauryn Rochlen, M.D. ’04, was selected to serve as a board examiner for the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Jaspal Singh, M.D. ’06, B.A. ’02, was named co-director of the recently opened Weill Cornell Medicine Center for Comprehensive Spine Care in New York City. Singh also serves as the medical director of outpatient faculty practice in the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College.

Jennifer M. Stonebrook, M.S. ’09, Health Sciences, earned certification as a hospice and palliative care administrator through the Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association.


Megan Evans, M.D. ’11, was appointed assistant professor at Tufts Medical School and associate program director of the Tufts OB/GYN residency program.

Pooja Lakshmin, M.D., RESD ’16, joined the faculty of the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences as an assistant professor. She specializes in reproductive psychiatry and women’s mental health.

Sarah R. Miller, D.P.T. ’11, was named as a fellow at the American Academy of Orthopedic Manual Physical Therapy.

Grace A. Montenegro, M.D., RESD ’11, earned board certification from the American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery.

Resmi Premji, M.D., FEL ’16, recently earned board certification in endocrinology, diabetes, and metabolism.

Latest News

Recent publications from SMHS faculty
The latest SMHS class notes.
Correggio Peagler Leans into Lessons Learned in Athletics, Music, and Martial Arts as He Embraces the Virtues of Being a Lifelong Learner